Many iconic and distinctive sites lie within the confines of CB5’s district. These buildings and districts are at the foundation of the city’s rich history. For example, the Flatiron Building and Empire State Building are among the world’s most recognizable structures and have long defined the city’s skyline and streetscape. The Ladies’ Mile Historic District, which was granted landmark status in 1989, served as a prime shopping area that played host to some of New York’s fanciest department stores and retailers.

CB5’s Landmarks committee weighs in on proposed changes to existing landmarks and reviews applications for new landmarks. The committee’s recommendations give the city’s Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) a valuable community perspective on some of the district’s most priceless buildings.

Generally meets on the fourth Tuesday of the month at 6pm. Meeting time and location subject to change. Please refer to our calendar.

You can find a record of CB5’s virtual Landmarks Committee meetings on Youtube.

You can find CB5’s Policy on Public Notification here.

Landmark Committee Matrix for Board Members

NYC’s Landmarks Preservation Commission Website

Landmarks Committee Members

Marc Hershberg (Chair)
Kevin Frisz (Vice-Chair)
Morris Ades
Malik Fisher
Laura Garcia

John B. Harris Jr.
Robert Isaacs
Michael Kaback
Sam Levy

Neil Miller
David Shapiro
Sachi Takahashi-Rial
Justine Witzke
Zona Xu

Landmarks Public Members

Suzanne Johnson
Karen Pedrazzi

Barbara Spandorf
Peter Stamberg

Tony Testa

Recent Landmarks Resolutions